Finding a Personal Brand

I’m a communications major. Originally, to me that meant that I mostly was going to have to do a lot of reading and writing. Well boy was I wrong. Communications involves much more than that. It means that I am not only a writer, but an editor too. It means I am a designer and an inventor. It was not until taking a Desktop Publishing class that this finally resonated with me.

Having a personal brand is a thing?

An article that I recently read that caught my attention was from the New York Time’s by Steven Kurutz, “Want to Find Fulfillment at Last? Think Like a Designer” because it opened my eyes to realizing that it is okay to not know exactly what you want to do. Today it seems to be instilled in college students that in order to be successful you need to know exactly what you want to do with your future so you can get a job right after leaving college. But part of being able to find a job and be successful in life, all starts with figuring out what your own personal brand will be.img_0827

Until now, I had never really thought much about what my personal brand was. However, I do think it is essential to establish this to be able to move forward. I think three of the best words to describe my personal brand are well-rounded, compassionate, and driven.

After completing two co-ops I believe I was able to truly find my niche and what I think would be the most rewarding career for myself. Of course, I am also a firm believer that as we continue to get older we never stop growing as a person, which inevitably causes our personal brand to change along with us.

Since when does type matter?

Designing a business card to represent my personal brand proved to be much more detailed than I originally perceived it to be. For instance, I never thought there was so much involved when it came to the topic of typography. Who knew that there were so many rules for how you should pick a font and how other people would react to it. However, what I have found is that you can’t make everyone happy with the kind of fonts you choose since everyone has their own particular style.

When first picking a font for my business card I chose Caslon and c40ulvctjlUnivers from the article “19 Top Fonts in 19 Top Combinations”. I thought they both were very simple and complemented each other very well. Since I am a very laid back person, I wanted my fonts to match this.

What turned out to be a blessing in disguise was having to change my fonts at the last minute. Without doing so, I never would have branched out and played around with multiple other fonts that were not exactly in my comfort zone. I actually
realized through doing this that it really does matter what two fonts you put together because when you choose the wrong one, it can completely change the message that you are trying to convey while also entirely throwing off your audience.

Color is more than just picking your favorite

Its scary to think that color can play such a crucial role when designing any sort of brand. I honestly thought that people just picked a color that they thought went well or was one of their favorite colors. After reading about what each color means and how it makes people feel, I completely transformed my way of thinking and refocused on what the color of my personal brand should be. My favorite color is blue, but after reading a few articles I decided that I should choose my brand based on my three words and who I am as a person.

While reading the article, “Color Theory for Designers, Part 1: The Meaning of Color”, I got a whole new perspective on what each color represents. After this, I came back to the conclusion that the color for my personal brand should in fact be blue. I chose this color because I notijq3wwlff9xced that the way my personality is really matches up with the cool colors. Everything they represent from night, nature, water, relaxing, reserved, etc. are all things that describe me. Then when further reading about each one, I realized that how I want to represent myself is within a light blue to be friendly and a darker blue to represent being reliable. So to achieve this I plan on using split complementary color schemes.

Desktop publishing will never go out of style

In all, everything we chose to design or represent our brand, matters. From the words we use and the fonts to write them, to the colors we choose and the layout to put it all together, it all matters. Something that I found surprising with the history of Desktop Publishing is that it is still fairly new and people are already saying that print is dead. It is easy to forget that these technologies were only started a couple of years ago because my generation was born in an era where we do not know anything different. There will always be a need for flyers, business cards, pamphlets, newspapers, ads, etc. I personally think that the tools we use in desktop publishing are something that will continue to be beneficial.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

