Designing the Perfect Flyer

Who knew creating a flyer for an event would be so difficult? I sure didn’t when I first started out. Originally, I thought all that mattered was a great image and a catchy title. However, as I continued I found that a lot more goes into constructing a creative and effective flyer.

It’s all about the headline

When creating a flyer for an event it is crucial to determine what is the most important part that you would like to highlight. For my particular flyer, I thought the headline was the most important component that I wanted to emphasis.

The event that I chose to promote was a pasta dinner fundraiser put deepher-dude-is-coming-with-5-all-you-can-eat-pasta-2on by my sorority, to raise money for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Our target audience was other college students, especially those in the Greek community. I needed a headline that would attract this group of people by appealing to what they could benefit from this.

To create the most effective headline, I took some pointers from the article on adespresso “11 Formulas and Strategies to Write Irresistible Ad Headlines” by Pawel Grabowski. In one of his tips he suggest to just use a direct headline that will grab the audiences attention without being too catchy or over the top. As long as the title explains exactly what is going on, then you have made your point effectively.

So, after doing some research on headlines I came to the conclusion that this would be the most effective for my flyer, “Deepher Dude is Coming!”

Subheads are your friend

To be honest, I was a little reluctant to put a subhead on my flyer. I thought that by doing so it meant that my headline was not strong enough and that it should be able to stand-alone. However, this is not the case.

Thinking about the event that I was creating a flyer for, I realized there was a lot of information I should include with only limited amount of space. After coming up with a direct headline, I knew I needed something extra to fully grab the audience and make them want to come to the event. This is why I added a subhead stating “$5 all you can eat pasta.” By adding this it not only gives important information, but it adds emphasis to the event that is coming up and what it will include.

A picture speaks louder than words

To me, the next most important thing is finding a visual that will capture the essence of what your flyer is trying to convey. As soon as I chose this event to create a flyer for, I knew the perfect picture would be of some sort of pasta. Unfortunately, my original idea to have a picture of pasta as the full flyer with the image faded out a bit to allow the words to pop out more on the page, did not turn out as well as I would have hoped. Instead, I stumbled upon a simple, delicious looking picture of pasta on unsplash.com. Once I found the picture, the rest of the flyer came together almost instantly. screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-2-24-04-am

Stop! Think before you place that element

To say placement and positioning on a flyer is important is an understatement. It is crucial! I found this out the hard way when I designed my first draft of my flyer that I had thought would be my final copy. Quickly I found out that placing things on a page may look fine to me, but looks weird and awkward to others.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-2-29-29-amAfter placing the picture at the top of the flyer
with the text all below, I realized that it looked strange and like something was missing.
So, I decided to place the picture in the middle of the flyer allowing it to break up the sections of information. Once doing this it allowed the flyer to flow much better and establish the visual hierarchy I was hoping to achieve originally.

Choosing fonts and establishing what should go where and in what size was a little hard at first. Then I read the article “The Visual School Guide to Visual Hierarchy” by Janie Kliever on Canva.com. It states that to help get a message a cross you should use 3 levels to help with designing.

I decided that the title should be the first level and would be biggest text that would stand out the most. Next for my second level, I used a separate smaller text for my subhead to distinguish that it is different from the headline. For my third level I chose to make the details such as the date, address, and benefits of the fundraiser the smallest text and underneath the picture. By following the pattern Kliever provided I was able to separate the text in a way that allowed the flyer to flow better.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-2-37-21-amCreativity is key

Overall, designing flyers for events is more difficult than it first seems. A lot of thought and patience has to go into it because there are so many elements involved. Designing the perfect flyer takes practice and knowing when certain things are working and when certain things are completely ruining your design. Holding on to an idea because you think it is safe, ultimately could be the downfall to your flyer. Remember, it is never a bad to be creative and try something new you might surprise yourself. I know I did.

Leave a Reply

